Real Life Inspiration


Today, I received some awesome inspiration from a couple of conversations that I stumbled upon during my daily routine.One of my co-workers has recently returned to work after a stroke and a variety of other medical complications. She always had a positive attitude before she became ill and she continues to have an ebullient disposition. We spoke for a while about how it can be easy to fall into the habit of “ruminating” on past events as well as choosing what we want to focus our thoughts on. To demonstrate the importance of choosing your outlook, she told me that when a friend of hers stated, “wow, you have really had a rough year this year”, she replied that even during the worst days of her illness, she still found moments every day where things went well. To me, this is an inspiring reminder. Even if you are recovering from a major illness, there are always positive moments to collect.

Later that day, I stated to a friend of mine “man, it would be great to win the Lottery”. He replied, “You already have won”. “Just think about where you are in this world. You could be living in a country with limited resources.” I realized immediately that he was absolutely right. Our live is already full of abundance. There are always moments to enjoy. There are always people to share good times with.

You are already a winner! Every moment has bits of joy that just need to be recognized!

 

4 Comments to “Real Life Inspiration”

  1. “Our live is already full of abundance” – so easy to forget this when you are in the midst of the “stuff hitting the fan” lol. I love encounters like you had here — some of the best reminders and messages come of them.

  2. Give my best to your amazing co-worker. Having been in a unique situation, it is and was important to keep a positive outlook on life and living. If you would like, please feel free to print out the post “Anniversary”. It is our mental outlook that speeds our recovery and getting back to living. And “YES” to the rest of this wonderful post. Jay

  3. Shred After Reading: 😉
    This compelling post reminded me of Viktor Frankle’s book, Man’s Search for Meaning. He too found the beauty in the moment, even in a holocaust camp. You can delete this comment after you read it, because it really isn’t meant to be an advertisement. I just want to say that I wrote about this sort of mentality in my first nonfiction book, Blessings in the Mire. It was written following the suicide of my son. Had I not been able to find some sort of “blessings” in his death, I too would have perished. Writing the book was the catalyst to my healing, and I am told that the book has “healing properties” by those who have read it following the death of a loved one. Your friend is a wonderful role model for those of us who are prone to pity parties as opposed to believing in the perfection of the wiser universe.
    Thank you for this thought provoking post.

Leave a Reply

