Go with the Flow


Photo Credit: http://www.cdc.gov/

Meditation is one method of getting into the right mind. We can also get “into our right minds” by getting into a “flow state”. A “flow state” or “getting in the groove” can occur when we perform an activity that  requires little thought that we love to do.

Last night, I played “Ping Pong” with a couple of my friends. When you get a good “rally” going, you can feel the “Groove” and then you focus less on your tthoughts. Getting into this “groove” is the most enjoyable aspect of the game. Yesterday afternoon, I was fortunate enough to go surfing. When the swelll is well organized and you have found the “sweet spot” of the break, you can fall into a groove and relax into taking off on waves. I find surfing to be a highly meditative practice.

When you are “in the flow”, you typically are so absorbed in the activity that you may not experience the passage of time. You will also be deeply rooted in the experience of NOW. Your focus may be so intense on the activity that you will be detached from your stream of conscious thoughts.

I have spoken with people that experience this “flow” experience through what they enjoy. Gardening, making art, playing music, running, biking, surfing, quilting, hiking can all be all lead to a flow experience.

What activities help you “go with the flow”?

5 Comments to “Go with the Flow”

  1. Thank you for this. So true!!!

  2. “When you are “in the flow”, you typically are so absorbed in the activity that you may not experience the passage of time. You will also be deeply rooted in the experience of NOW. Your focus may be so intense on the activity that you will be detached from your stream of conscious thoughts.”

    Oooooo I. Love. This. Post! ❤ ❤ ❤

    I get so absorbed/I lose myself/I lose sense of time/I get detached from my stream of conscious thoughts when I get deeply engrossed in my writing. The fact that I lose myself in writing has helped me realize where my true passion is!

    I so appreciate you putting my actions of losing myself in what I love, into such words. It's nice to put a name for the times when you wake up after realizing that you were lost in the time of NOW.

    This was kind of like a Echkart Tolle moment 🙂 ~ Thank you ~

Leave a Reply

